As a state that’s done little to decriminalize marijuana, you may be wondering if you can purchase CBD in Tennessee. Just like in all other 50 states, yes you can!
What Is CBD?
Hemp-derived CBD comes from a strain of the cannabis plant that is naturally low in THC, the compound that gets you high. As of the Farm Bill of 2018, hemp can be farmed and sold in all 50 states—as long as the THC levels are .3% or lower.
THC is the psychoactive compound that gets you high when you smoke or consume marijuana. With CBD, the THC is .3% or lower, so you don’t have to worry about getting high. However, both CBD and marijuana contain cannabidiol. This is the active compound responsible for the medicinal benefits of marijuana, so there’s no need for a high.
Is CBD Legal In Tennessee?
Yes, CBD with .3% THC or less is legal in Tennessee. However, with such strict marijuana laws, it’s wise to keep your CBD in its original container and carry proof of purchase with you. Carry your receipt, take a photo of the receipt, or keep the receipt of your online purchase bookmarked in your email for fast and easy access.
Let’s take a look at the marijuana laws.
- Medical marijuana is limited, approved primarily for seizures. Only products with .9% THC or less are approved.
- Possession of half an ounce or less is a misdemeanor with a $250 fine and one year in jail.
- Second offenses for a half ounce or less are misdemeanors with a $500 fine and one year in jail.
- Sales, trafficking, or carrying more than half an ounce is considered a felony.
- The Nashville District Attorney’s Office is no longer prosecuting for possession of less than half an ounce of marijuana.
- The city of Memphis typically only pursues possession for an ounce or less, punishable by 10 hours of community service.
Do You Need A Prescription For CBD Oil In Tennessee?
You only need a prescription for CBD oil that contains more than .3% of THC. You would need to have seizures and approval from a physician. A few other health conditions are occasionally approved for medical marijuana. The maximum amount of THC for medical marijuana is .9%.
As of the Farm Bill of 2018, those searching for the benefits of marijuana in a legal means can try CBD. However, CBD is still not classified any differently than marijuana at the Federal level, so it may be illegal to use per your employer, school, or extracurricular organization.
Can I Buy CBD Online In Tennessee?
Yes, you can buy CBD online! Only products with .3% of THC or less can be sold online so there’s no worry that you are purchasing marijuana. You can find CBD stores and health and wellness stores that sell CBD across the state, but for the largest selection—most people shop online. Shopping online also empowers you to research the brand you are buying from and ensure the quality of your product.
Tennessee CBD Laws
Anyone can purchase CBD in Tennessee, but as we mentioned above, use may be prohibited by your employer, school, or extracurricular organization.
If you are searching for high-quality CBD, we invite you to browse the online options at Holmes Organics. Our products are US-grown and USDA-Organic Certified and never have any unnecessary additives or fillers. We sell Organic CBD oil, CBD gummies, CBD softgels, CBD Cream, and have a melatonin sleep product coming soon!